New Music Discovery: Dan Auerbach

"Shine On Me"

March 30, 2017

© Anthony Behar

FM 949 - San Diego's Alternative. New Music Discovery. 

The Black Keys front-man Dan Auerbach's first single from his new album "Waiting On A Song" has been released! Check it out here:

Nine time GRAMMY-winner Dan Auerbach will release Waiting On A Song, his second solo album, on June 2nd via his new label, Easy Eye Sound. The album is Auerbach’s much anticipated follow-up to 2009’s Keep It Hid and is a love letter to Nashville. As such, he recruited some of Nashville’s most respected players to write and record his latest, including John Prine, Duane Eddy, JerryDouglas, Pat McLaughlin and Bobby Wood and Gene Chrisman of the Memphis Boys. Said Auerbach about working with his musical heroes: “Living in Nashville has definitely changed the way I think about music and the way that I record it,” he admits. “I didn’t have all of these resources before. I am working with some of the greatest musicians that ever lived.”

Dan Auerbach moved to Nashville, from his native Akron, Ohio, in 2010 and with this release, his first solo album in eight years, it’s clear that he has made Music City his home. During the summer of 2016, taking a break from the non-stop touring he’d done with The Black Keys and the Arcs, he finally got acquainted with the city he loved so much, as well as the world-class musicians who live there, and subsequently collaborated with some of Nashville’s heavyweights. Of the process he reveals, “they’d come over, and we’d be in a little room in my house with the door closed, and we’d just write. Monday through Wednesday we’d write, and then Thursday through Sunday we’d record, every week.” Auerbach wrote seven songs with John Prine, one of which is the title track of the album, and Mark Knopfler’s immediately identifiable guitar elevates “Shine on Me” into an anthem. Iconic guitarist Duane Eddy, is featured on “Livin’ in Sin” and the cinematic “King of a One Horse Town.”

Waiting On A Song is the debut release, and marks the launch of Easy Eye Sound, Dan Auerbach’s new record label which will feature soon-to-be-announced releases from other artists and is distributed by Auerbach's long-time label Nonesuch Records.The label is built equally around Auerbach’s Easy Eye Studio in Nashville, where the Black Keys recorded their last two albums, as well as the collection of famous session musicians that have come to call the studio home. Auerbach says, “Sometimes I feel I created my own Field of Dreams. I built the studio because I knew something was going to happen. I built it to accommodate live musicians playing, and then all of a sudden the best musicians in Nashville show up, and it’s happening.”

Dan Auerbach- Waiting On A Song Track List

01 Waiting On A Song

02 Malibu Man

03 Livin' In Sin

04 Shine On Me

05 King Of A One Horse Town

06 Never In My Wildest Dreams

07 Cherrybomb

08 Stand By My Girl

09 Undertow

10 Show Me