© Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

American League wins the All-Star Game!

Will have home-field advantage come World Series

July 13, 2016


© Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

By Chris Eidson.

For the first time since 1992 San Diego was home to the All-Star Game. The 68 best players in the Majors took the field at Petco Park to settle the annual contest between the National League and the American League. This year the American League won out, scoring 4 runs to the National League’s 2. The American League saw Home Runs from two Kanas City Royals’ Salvador Perez and Eric Hosmer both in the second, with Chris Bryant of the Chicago Cubs hitting a Home Run in the first for the National League.


© Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
Two Padres made appearances last night in the All-Start Game. Padres’ first baseman Wil Myers and pitcher Drew Pomeranz both got to stand in front of their home city and represent the Padres’ for the National League.


Opening ceremonies were notable as well. With the All-time saves leader in MLB history, former Padre, Trevor Hoffman, helping open the game by bringing the game ball from the bullpen to the pitcher’s mound; as once again AC/DC’s Highway to Hell was heard ringing throughout Petco Park.  Local legend and Sportscaster, Dick Enberg had the honor of announcing the two new batting titles for the two leagues: the Rod Carew AL Batting Champion, and the Tony Gwynn NL Batting Champion. In their careers Carew had 7 batting championships and Gwynn had 8.


© Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Besides being an exciting and exhilarating game, watching the best of the best go head-to-head, there is also a lasting impact from the outcome of the All-Star Game. After 2002’s All-Star Game ended in a tie after 11 innings, a decision was made to award home-field advantage in the World Series to the winning League. That means that this year the American League team will have home-field advantage when the Word Series is at hand.